Home > pages > Congressional Prayer Caucus

Congressional Prayer Caucus

The Purpose of the Prayer Caucus:

The free exercise of religion is a fundamental human right that is essential to a free society.  From our Nation’s earliest days, prayer and religious freedom have played a vital role in strengthening the fabric of our society and uniting us as a people.

The purpose of the Congressional Prayer Caucus is four-fold: First, to recognize the vital role that prayer by individuals of all faiths has played in uniting us as a people in the face of seemingly impossible adversity.  Second, to protect one our most fundamental freedoms enshrined in the First Amendment—the free exercise of religion.  Third, to collect, exchange, and disseminate information about public religious expression as a fundamental feature of American life.  And finally, to use the legislative process to support Members of the House and Senate in protecting and preserving our spiritual heritage and our religious freedoms for Americans of all faiths.

Members of the Caucus recognize that religious beliefs cannot and should not be checked at the door when we leave our homes or houses of worship, and they are committed to ensuring that we all remain free to equally, faithfully, and fully engage in all aspects of American life.

History of the Prayer Caucus:

Founded in 2005 by Congressman Forbes, the Congressional Prayer Caucus began as a small group of Members meeting to pray for our Nation in room 219 of the Capitol.  Today, the Caucus is an official Congressional Member Organization of the House of Representatives that has grown to over 90 Members of the House and Senate.  In addition to continuing to meet to pray, Members engage the legislative process to protect the free exercise of faith for all Americans.

The free exercise of religion is a fundamental human right that is essential to a free society.  Every American should be free to live and work according to his or her beliefs without fear of punishment from the government, and Congressional Prayer Caucus Members focus on engaging the legislative process to protect the ability of every American — of all faiths or no faith — to exercise the First Amendment right to the free exercise of their religion.

You can read more about the Congressional Prayer Caucus, here.

Members of the Congressional Prayer Caucus:

Congressman J. Randy Forbes, Founder & Co-Chairman 
Senator James Lankford, Co-Chairman

Congressman Robert Aderholt
Congressman Brian Babin
Congressman Andy Barr
Congressman Gus Bilirakis
Congressman Rob Bishop 
Congresswoman Diane Black 
Congresswoman Marsha Blackburn 
Senator John Boozman
Congressman Jim Bridenstine 
Congressman Bradley Byrne
Congressman John Carter
Congressman Jason Chaffetz
Congressman Mike Coffman
Congressman Doug Collins
Congressman Mike Conaway
Congressman Kevin Cramer
Congressman Rick Crawford 
Senator Steve Daines
Congressman Jeff Duncan
Congresswoman Renee Ellmers
Congressman Stephen Fincher 
Congressman John Fleming 
Congresswoman Virginia Foxx
Congressman Trent Franks
Congressman Scott Garrett
Congressman Louie Gohmert
Congressman Bob Goodlatte
Congressman Morgan Griffith
Congressman Gregg Harper
Congressman Andy Harris 
Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler
Congressman Jody Hice
Congressman French Hill
Congressman Richard Hudson
Congressman Tim Huelskamp
Congressman Bill Huizenga
Congressman Randy Hultgren
Congressman Robert Hurt 
Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins
Congressman Bill Johnson
Congressman Sam Johnson
Congressman Walter Jones
Congressman Jim Jordan
Congressman Mike Kelly
Congressman Steve King
Congressman John Kline
Congressman Doug LaMalfa
Congressman Doug Lamborn
Congressman Bob Latta
Congressman Daniel Lipinski
Congressman Barry Loudermilk
Congressman Kenny Marchant
Congressman Patrick McHenry
Congressman David McKinley
Congressman Jeff Miller
Congressman John Moolenaar
Congressman Randy Neugebauer
Congresswoman Kristi Noem
Congressman Stevan Pearce
Congressman Scott Perry 
Congressman Robert Pittenger
Congressman Joe Pitts
Congressman Mike Pompeo
Congressman Bill Posey 
Congressman Tom Price 
Congressman Dave Reichert 
Congressman Reid Ribble
Congressman Scott Rigell
Congresswoman Martha Roby
Congressman Phil Roe
Congressman Mike Rogers
Congressman Peter Roskam
Congressman Dennis Ross
Congressman Ed Royce
Congressman Steve Russell
Congressman Paul Ryan
Congressman Matt Salmon
Congressman Steve Scalise
Congressman Adrian Smith
Congressman Chris Smith
Congressman Lamar Smith
Congressman Steve Stivers
Congressman Marlin Stutzman
Congressman Lee Terry
Congressman Glenn Thompson
Congressman Mike Turner
Congressman Fred Upton
Congressman Tim Walberg
Congressman Randy Weber
Congressman Joe Wilson
Congressman Robert Wittman
Congressman Todd Young
Congressman Tom Emmer

Contact the Congressional Prayer Caucus: Amy Vitale, Amy.Vitale@mail.house.gov
Contact and Connect with Randy Forbes

stay connected

connect on instagram

Connect on Instagram
Follow Randy Forbes on Twitter